Lost Password?

New Quilt Executive Committee Members

New Quilt Executive Committee Members

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

The Quilt Board of Directors recently completed its annual election for The Quilt Executive Committee. The Quilt is pleased to announce three new members will join the Committee as of 2012 for two-year terms: Don Welch, president and CEO, Merit Network; Veronica Sarjeant, Chief Operating Officer, Florida LambdaRail; and Claude Garelik, System IT Security Officer, South Dakota Board of Regents and Chairman of the Board for Great Plains Network. The nine-member Executive Committee provides ongoing oversight of Quilt affairs as delegated by the full Board.

The Board also completed its officer elections for 2012. Garelik was elected to the office of Vice Chairman for 2012. In accordance with Quilt bylaws, the 2011 Vice Chairman, Wendy Huntoon, Director of Networking at the Pittsburgh Supercomputing Center who manages the Three Rivers Optical Exchange (3ROX), was elected to the Chair position for this year. Wendy replaces James Deaton, Chief Technology Officer of OneNet . Mike Phillips, Executive Director of LEARN, was re-elected to the office of Treasurer.

“As a member-powered organization, The Quilt is very fortunate to have not only a tremendous breadth of talent among our members but also a strong commitment to go above and beyond in contributing their leadership to the support of advanced regional networking for research and education,” said Jen Leasure, Quilt president and CEO. “I congratulate the new Executive Committee members and officers on their election and look forward to another highly productive year of working together.”

About The Quilt

The Quilt is the national coalition of advanced regional networks for research and education, representing 28 networks across the country. Participants in The Quilt provide advanced network services and applications to over 200 universities and thousands of other educational institutions.