Data Federation Of University Research (DataFOUR) Announces Professional Development Webinar Series

We thought you might find this initiative of interest as part of a professional development opportunity from Quilt Member, GPN. This series is a collaborative effort between GPN, the Greater Western Library Alliance and the University of Kansas. Please take a moment to explore the line-up of the DataFOUR webinars that will be running through December by visiting our Quilt Research Engagement webpage.

DataFOUR, the Data Federation Of University Research, is very pleased to announce the first speakers for the FY2016 Professional Development Webinar Series. Initial speakers are

Additional presentations by Ryan Hafen, Purdue University will be scheduled in the near future.

The DataFOUR Professional Development Webinar Series was instituted to bring high quality, one-hour web-based presentations on timely developments in research data from a variety of perspectives relevant to researchers, faculty, librarians, data specialists, and cyberinfrastructure professionals. The presentations are free, open to the entire higher education community and are intended to foster a shared understanding of data issues currently faced by institutions across the region.  Each webinar will be recorded and made available to the community after it is presented.

All presentations are scheduled for 11AM Central.  Registration for DataFOUR webinars is free and registration is required. You may register for events at the online catalog: For a complete list of upcoming DataFOUR events, select the DataFOUR tag.

To find out about future webinar events, please visit


DataFOUR (Data Federation Of University Research) is a collaboration among the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA) and the Great Plains Network (GPN) and their members. Initially funded by an award from IMLS to the University of Kansas, the goals of DataFOUR include Outreach, Education, and Training; Strengthening Infrastructure; and Communication & Advocacy.

DataFOUR Steering Committee members are Judy Ganson, University of Arkansas, Greg Monaco, GPN, Jamene Brooks-Kieffer, University of Kansas, Mark Laufersweiler, University of Oklahoma, Ann Riley, University of Missouri, Joni Blake, GWLA, and Jennifer Clarke, University of Nebraska, Lincoln.